COMPOUND SENTENCE


A compound sentence is a sentence that contains two complete ideas (called clause/independent clause/simple sentence) that related.
These two clauses are usually connected in a compound sentence by a conjunction. The coordinating conjunction are for, and, nor, but, or, yet, so (FANBOYS).

Formula :
1. Independent clause + comma + Coordinating conjunction + independent clause

Example :
– He couldn’t go to school, for he got sick.
– Batman is a hero, and he is successful in catching the criminal in the city.
– I don’t like garlic, nor do I like ginger.
– He loves insect, but he is afraid to grasshopper.
– His feet are pain, so he can’t run well.

2. Independent clause + semicolon (;) + independent clause

Example :
– I don’t think my father will ever become a critical thinker; he is resistant to change.
– My friends from high school label everybody; I will pay attention to the way they present the facts.

3. Independent clause + semicolon (;) + conjunctive adverb + comma + independent clause

And
conjunctive adverbs : furthermore, moreover, in addition, in fact, indeed

But/yet
conjunctive adverbs : however, nevertheless

So
conjunctive adverbs : consequently, therefore, as a result

Example :
– I have had enough of your unfair treatment; consequently I have decided to leave your employment.

Leave a comment